Boys Varsity Football · Owls well-represented in all-district football voting!

After finishing one win away from their first postseason berth since 1996, the Joshua Owls were well-represented in all-district selections with 11 players voted to the first or second team.

Joshua had three players make the first team, all on the defense, in linebackers Justis Chaney and Josh Clarke along with defensive end Brandon Parrish.

“Parrish has been a steady hand all the way through his career,” Joshua Coach Mike Burt said. “The fact of being steady and making plays, and being physical and aggressive stands out on film. Chaney just being a junior, that’s a pretty good sign for opponents to vote for you. He’s got a tremendous nose for the ball. He’s your throwback linebacker. He does a great job of seeking and hitting. And Josh I thought did a good job of working hard in the offseason and making himself stronger. I think that’s what really stands out is the physicality of those three men.”

Burt said he was proud to see 11 Owls voted to the all-district team after Joshua went 4-6 on the season, their best mark since 2008.

“First and foremost, we had 11 kids that were first- or second-team all-district, which, every year before that since I’ve been here, it’s been one or two guys,” Burt said. “I think that shows you what the coaches think of our kids on film and then in person when you go against our kids. No. 1 they pass the eye test compared to what we had before. That’s a tribute to their investment the last year or two in getting bigger and stronger. It helped their style of play, too. 

“I think the big thing about the culture here is it’s turned. I think these kids have made a determined effort to make Joshua relevant again. We were one game away from getting to the playoffs and that’s a tribute to these kids. Now we hope we can keep going with it.”

Second-team selections for Joshua are: running back Mitchell Minton, fullback George Nunn, tight end Cody Owen, receiver Hayden Chittum, tackle Kendal Maples, defensive end Cayse Chambers, linebacker Alex Lanning and punter Wes McHugh.

Article written by Cleburne Times Review